Brittany Mosser receives UW Together We Will Award

Department news | May 27, 2021

Congratulations to Brittany Mosser, MSW, LICSW, Manager of the ALACRITY Center and CREATIV Lab, for receiving the 2021 Together We Will Award from UW President Ana Mari Cauce! The UW Together We Will Awards were created to celebrate outstanding staff contributions made during the extraordinary challenges of 2020, serving as a temporary replacement for the Distinguished Staff Award program. Nominated by Patricia Arean, PhD, and Patrick Raue, PhD, Brittany was selected for contributing to the successful implementation of funded studies involving community-dwelling older adults and rural populations, a challenging task as older adults are a vulnerable and underserved population and are at even higher risk to mental health conditions due to increased social isolation associated with the COVID pandemic.

Brittany was also instrumental in looking for funding mechanisms to support on-going research under COVID, as well as funding opportunities that were meaningful in addressing the needs of our communities. Her work resulted in four awards, one from our department and three from NIMH to study the impact of COVID19 on older adults, to create a novel social isolation prevention program called Stay Connected (which is being considered for adoption by King County Housing Authority), a study on how essential workers and those unemployed under COVID19 are coping emotionally, and which mobile health apps (if any) they are using to cope, and a national study to determine how hospitals are providing emotional resources for front line workers. Read more about Brittany’s work and all Together We Will awardees

Deb Cowley recognized for a lifetime of service

Department News | March 31, 2021

Deb Cowley, MD, was announced as the recipient of the 2021 American Association of Directors of Psychiatric Residency Training (AADPRT) Annual Lifetime Service Award. The purpose of this award is to acknowledge a psychiatrist AADPRT member who has provided significant service to AADPRT, had an impact on psychiatric residency education nationally, demonstrated excellence in psychiatric residency education, provided generativity and mentoring in residency, or some combination of these.

Dr. Cowley completed her MD at the University of Pennsylvania and her Psychiatry residency at the University of Washington. She is currently Professor Emeritus in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the University of Washington. She was the department’s Psychiatry Residency Director 1997-2015 and Vice Chair for Education 2005-2020. Her clinical work, teaching, and scholarship focus on perinatal psychiatry, anxiety disorders, psychiatric education, and faculty development. She has served as President of the American Association of Directors of Psychiatric Residency Training (AADPRT); has chaired AADPRT committees on research in residency, Child portal programs, duty hours, Milestones assessment, and faculty development; and has served on the ACGME Psychiatry Milestones Workgroup and American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines Steering Committee.

Dr. Cowley embodies all the criteria of this prestigious award. We all know her incredible contribution to resident training in our own program, but some may not have as much familiarity with her national activities and reputation. Simply put, Dr. Cowley has been a tour de force of activity nationally in resident education. She has held almost every position there is within AADPRT including serving as Membership Co-Chair, Program Chair, Secretary and President. Similarly, she has been on more national organization task forces than you can shake a stick at! She has also been very involved in the Psychiatry Resident In-Training Examination (PRITE), American Psychiatric Association (APA), American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN) and the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). There is not any major national residency education program Dr. Cowley has not touched. Congratulations!

Andrew Saxon recognized for service

Department News | February 25, 2021

Congratulations to Andrew Saxon, MD, for receiving the 2021 Nyswander/Dole “Marie” Award. Named after Vincent Dole, MD, and Marie Nyswander, MD, who founded methadone maintenance treatment in the 1960s, the award is the preeminent recognition in the field of opioid use disorder treatment. Recipients are nominated by their peers, with a committee then selecting just a handful of national honorees. An awards program to honor all six will be held virtually on April 13, 2021 as part of the American Association for the Treatment of Opioid Dependence annual conference.

Roberto Montenegro gives ‘Whatever It Takes’

Department News | February 25, 2021

Roberto Montengro, MD, PhD, received the Whatever It Takes award by Multisystemic Therapy (MST) Services in recognition of his outstanding and meritorious service within the MST community and his dedication and willingness to go above and beyond. An excerpt from his nomination says, “Dr. Montenegro has been an amazing support for a youth enrolled in MST services. Without Dr. Montenegro's efforts, the youth would have been sent to Juvenile rehabilitation and missed all the opportunities he is now a part of.”